Text Box: Scholarships

The Buxmont Chapter of the Pennsylvania Society of Tax & Accounting Professionals is offering their Annual Accounting Scholarships to three (3) full time accounting majors each in the amount of $3,000. To obtain an application or for additional information, please contact Marilyn Banyai, CPA, Chairperson of the Scholarship Committee, 975 School Street, Collegeville, PA 19426 or by phone at

(610) 489-6644, or by email to: mbanyaicpa@gmail.com. All applications must be received by Friday, May 8, 2020. Awards will be presented at the June 23, 2020 Chapter meeting.

The following criteria is necessary to qualify:

1. Permanent resident address must be in Bucks or Montgomery County, Pennsylvania.

2. Must be a full time student entering their Junior or Senior year in the fall of 2020, and be a declared Accounting major (includes both 4th and 5th year Seniors).

3. Must present an OFFICIAL copy of current transcript with a "B" or better cumulative & Accounting Grade Point Average.

4. Must submit a brief essay of approximately 150 words explaining why you chose Accounting as your profession.

5. Must attach a SIGNED letter of recommendation from one of your Accounting professors/instructors.



To access and print the scholarship application on line, click below:




 The Buxmont Chapter Scholarships are awarded in memory of a Past President for their outstanding service to the Buxmont Chapter as follows:


Howard R. Matter Memorial Scholarship


M. Michael Lerner Memorial Scholarship


Frederick S. Patti  memorial Scholarship



Robert T. Zaleski Memorial ScholarShip

In addition to the three scholarships awarded each year, the Buxmont Chapter also funds an additional $3,000 scholarship which is presented annually by PSTAP’s Central office in memory of Robert T. Zaleski, a Public Accountant and long time member of the Buxmont Chapter.  Bob actively served the PSTAP as a State President, Chapter President, member of the PSTAP Board of Directors and Executive Committee.  In addition, his tireless efforts to promote and protect the practice rights of practitioners was recognized by the National Society of Accountants in 1993 where he was presented with the esteemed Accountant of the Year Award.

Text Box: The Buxmont Chapter awards three $ 3,000 scholarships every year to accounting majors living in Bucks and Montgomery Counties.

Pictured (L to R): 2019 Scholarship Committee  Ethel Parsons, CPA Chairperson Marilyn Banyai, CPA and Martha Post, EA

Pictured (L to R): Scholarship Winners, Kyra A Lavshell (Virginia Tech) and Rachel L. Jackson (Loyola University) attended the June 2019 Chapter Meeting and read their winning essays to the membership in attendance.  Each recipient received a $3,000 scholarship.